A place for me to write about the spam I receive, amusing battles with spammers and links to handy spam resources.

Sunday, July 31, 2005

Legacy of the UMAXPPC spammer

Readers of my Buffoons Blog may remember a long battle with Dmitriy Soldatenko aka Sid Wongvorakul who's web sites were spamming hundreds, if not thousands of various blogs and wikis. After a lot of complaints, his sites moved to another hosting company and the spam appeared to stop.

I was just googling for buffoons.blogspot.com (the address of my blog) to see who has mentioning it and noticed that someone has spammed a lot og guestbooks and made it look like my site was linked to the spamming.

Now, Sid's web sites used to be hosted by Everyone's Internet. I'll not go in to great detail but when I was trying to get Sid shut-down, they were absolutely useless. Now, the person doing the spamming appears to be using the IP address 216.127.68.15 which is owned by Everyone's Internet.

Spam Huntress has an article about this. It appears to be the UMAX spammer taking revenge on the people who exposed him. Here's an example entry taken from ATK Engines Guestbook.
.www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&lr=&q=Wiki+Spammers: ...... Get the admin of this wiki to install the solution described at ... Wreck the spammers pagerank GOOGLEPRAY (the only reason why they spam) by reporting them at .. actually spamming the wiki because spammers: spammers.chongqed - buffoons.blogspot - spamhuntress - spam.gunters - seem to circulate wiki addresses, ...I Love Wiki Spammers, submit spam; prevent spam; links; impressum ...

Note the references to my site as well as some others that highlighted and reported Sid to his hosting company. Presumably, these posts are to try and make it look like the spam-fighters are actually spammers. Of course, the person doing this spamming is an utter idiot. If the owner of the guestbook or forum visits any of the sites listed, they will see very quickly that we are not spammers. Also, he's not affecting the traffic to my web site. If anything, writing about him has boosted traffic to my blogs and brought me in contact with some good people.

On a side notes, the ATK Engines site is yet another example of a pointless guestbook that has just been left unmonitored. This is how spammers make their money and I'd strongly suggest that you should only post a guestbook if you're planning on moderating it. If I was considering buying something from ATK, I would certainly not do it now since they are hosting adverts for porn on their web site.

Since I know the IP address belongs to Everyone's Internet, I'm going to send them an email but I honestly do not expect to get any kind of meaningful response.

Finally, the most amusing thing here is that this spammer is a complete retard. If he's going to take the time to frame us for spamming, he could at least have an English speaker write the message for him. His posts are complete gibberish and in many cases, badly encoded.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.